Tentative Hello from Iowa!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by Caity, Dec 27, 2009.

1. Caity

Caity TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi! My name is Caity, and I broke down and joined a photography forum after sitting here surrounded by manuals for my new flash and going "Eh?" LOL! I decided the only way I can learn is by asking questions... And going somewhere where people might already know what they are doing, haha!

I probably made myself sound like a fool, but I do have a somewhat decent grasp of digital photography... But it's all self taught. I'm ready to jump in and really get into it, and frankly there are a lot of things I just don't know! So basically you'll see me lurking and reading posts like mad... And probably sharing some of what I learn and my progress through my photos. (If I can work up the nerve to post!)

Right now I shoot with a Canon Rebel XTi, standard 18-55mm kit lens, a Sigma 28-300mm lens, and a wide angle nameless brand lens. I recently aquired a Canon 430EXII Speedlite... And that is where my trouble lies right now haha, trying to get the hang of how to work with an external flash. I also want to learn more about lighting... Up until now I've mostly worked with ambient and natural lights... Ie... The sun! :lol: I want to get more into studio lighting, but have only a very small understanding of how it works, and good set up ideas. I plan on taking over part of our basement and making an amateur studio, just for messing around in. We'll see though, I might be getting ahead of myself! I also am JUST starting to really grasp post production work... Like Photoshop and the like. I don't necessarily want to get too into that, but it's good to know!