The Art Of Critique

One Sister

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Since joining the forum I have received two distinct types of "critique". One type can be cranky, is always shooting from the hip, no holds barred, knee jerk, “I like it” or “I hate it”. This is not helpful. That sort of response (it’s not a critique) is likely to be taken personally: I am a good person; I am not a good person. It does not promote growth, it does not help the OP in any way and I’m not sure what it does for the person posting the critique…perhaps it makes them feel better about their own work or even themselves. In any case, this review is no good to me.

The second type is why I even began posting images here. I need to get better. I enjoy photography, but I feel a certain urgency to know more and be able to create something I’m proud of in addition to having others admire it. But the admiration of my customers or my peers is not why I am a photographer. I do this first and foremost for the love of the medium. Although I do not do darkroom work any more, the smell of chemicals is in my blood, I love it. The digital age has brought me new controls and the ability to create all manner of images, some good and some not so much, but I am driven to improve my skills…always.