The Church and Steeple

Church Rat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Experimenting with Photoshop. What do you all think? The tools that I used were, Clone Stamp, Patch Tool, Healing Brush, Magnetic Lasso. I also changed the contrast in the 3 photos below to achieve a "dark" look. Maybe it's too dark?

I'm really new to Photoshop, so any suggestions to fix or change anything is very helpful to me! Thanks!

This is the original picture. I wanted to remove the other buildings so that only the church's steeple was the center of attention.

fbcla_original.jpg

Here are the 3 edits below. One in color, B&W, and as for the last one, I totally got rid of the background so only the steeple is standing out.

fbcla_1.jpg

fbcla_2.jpg

fbcla_allblack.jpg

Then I went a little bit further and started messing with some of the preset filter effects that Photoshop has, so in these next pictures I used the "Paint Daubs" artistic filter to paint the photos.

fbcla_pdaubs_before.jpg

fbcla_pdaubs_after.jpg

for someone "really new" to Photoshop, i think you did pretty good. the only thing i would change is to try to make the parts you cloned out blend in a little better. in the first edit, on the bottom right corner near the steeple, the yellow from the building looks out of place IMO. its the first thing i look at when i look at that picture.

it says your photos are ok to edit, so i hope you dont mind me having a go with the original.