The importance of documenting life

How often do you get in FRONT of the camera?

• Total voters

tinycomet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been playing around with cameras since I was about 15 years old when I picked up my dad's old Pentax ME Super (not realizing how amazing it actually was until it was stolen from my home in my late 20s). I'm 36 now.

I didn't start taking photography seriously until I was about 27. Very late, really. I shot weddings and fashion. Guess which one was the money-maker? I now work as the staff photographer at a major corporation here in Salt Lake City, Utah.

It's been a fantastic ride, and I can't wait for what the future holds.

But I don't think I realized until this particular experience at work about 2 years ago, the value of letting yourself be in front of the camera. I have 2 kids myself, and not having very many pictures of my own dad who passed away when I was just 12, I know the importance of creating a sort of record of my having actually existed.

We photographers tend to hide behind the camera a lot. Then there's those who just hate being in front of it.

So I'd like to share a video I made for those who are hiding too much. I hope you enjoy, and I hope it inspires you to get out from behind the camera if you don't already do so regularly

Raji

Can't tell if sincere post or spam.

I meant it as a sincere post. I mean the show is a mixture of comedy and sillyness generally, but in this episode I wanted to talk about the value of photography and basically saying "please stop hiding from the camera". Myself included.

My father took thousands of photos of our family between 1947 until 1984 when he died.
There are very, very few photos of him,and it always made me conscious of putting myself in the pic with my own kids so at least they have something to look at when I'm dead.
Looking around now,there ain't that many of me either.