The need for medium format?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by ajmall, Dec 4, 2005.

1. ajmall

ajmall TPF Noob!

For a while now medium and large format photography has been of interest to me but I have never even picked up a format camera! I am currently a student and doing a lot shoots for free, which I am happy with because most of them are friends in bands etc so they don't really have much to pay with anyway.

As a thought for the future with regards to photography, I am very aware of how competitive and difficult it is to make a good living just from photography and have always said unless i get that break a million others are after, it will always be something I do on the side. Most of the pros I have spoken to said they use medium or large format 99% of the time in their work. With that in mind I am curious as to whether medium and large format photography would be a worthy investment in learning? Also, 35mm I have pretty much taught myself and read up a lot about, is medium/large format photography just as easy to pick up?

I realise most of what I said is all to do with personal preference etc. but has anyone been the same or similar situation either recently or a few years ago? Any advice is appreciated.

2. Kent Frost

Kent Frost TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit