The Nikon d90.

random2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am completely new to anything to do with a camera, aside from the fact I have read everything out there on what there is to buy and what does what with the new technology out there. Theres a store selling the Nikon d90 for 1,149.99 Might get it.. it comes with a 18-105mm lens too.. I was thinking this or just wait and get that D3s made by nikon in about a year, after saving up. My philosophy is if I can't sell a picture from a d90.. why waste 5grnd on the super nice camera. Any one agree or disagree?? Just would like to hear any input. THaNKS

Well if you're new to photography, I wouldn't say that the D3s is a good starter camera. And, it's definitely NOT comparable to the D90.

If you are wanting to get into it professionally, and you are sure about that, then I would personally say look into the D700 first, and build up a trusty lens collection. The D700 is pretty much a D3 packed into a small body anyhow.

This would be a step up from the D90 from my knowledge... Hmmm.. from what I found on it is interesting just a little intimidating... i wouldn't be able to get any lenses just yet if I went this route, trying to budget. Thanks my friend.

Start out with the D90, buy a body and get yourself some nice glass. Starting out at a D3s wont be easy, it takes a long time to sell your photos, you need experience. It takes a long time to become "pro".

edit: what makes you want to go nikon and not canon?

I just think they have a nicer lens selection when it comes to what I'm looking for in the outdoor photo world. Canon is great though. I find more reviews in favor of nikon it seems.

I just think they have a nicer lens selection when it comes to what I'm looking for in the outdoor photo world. Canon is great though. I find more reviews in favor of nikon it seems.