The old 50mm portrait lens

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Flatland2D, Jun 20, 2007.

1. Flatland2D

Flatland2D TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm still new to photography, but it seems almost like a rule that 50mm lenses are used for portraits. My only question is, is this 50mm equivalent, or a lens marked 50mm? The reason I'm asking is that walking around at home with my 18-70mm lens set at 50mm (plus 1.5x crop factor) seems a little too close to use in the confines of a house for small group shots. I'd like to get a really fast prime for indoor/no flash shots, and I'm thinking I might want something less than 50mm. What do you guys use? Thanks.

2. nomade

nomade TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    A 50 mm is the normal lens, which is similar to human eyesight,moreover it's recommended to start with, it's almost perfect for everything, not just portraits, i used a couple of cameras with 50 mm on them for a while and then i got myself a Jupiter 12 to fit on my russian fed 3, it's about 32 mm. And it was a nice solution. My ricoh's lens is 40 mm and it's around the normal range too...

Anyway you might wanna try something between 28-35 mm...

3. Karsten V

Karsten V TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Here's a little something to read about the "normal lens" which will give you an insight on the subject.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Normal_lens

I have a cropped format camera as well and the way I figure it out is this:

I look through the viewfinder and set the focal lenght to what I think might be close to normal.
    Then raise my head over the camera and try to judge if what I see in the viewfinder is the same size as my eyes sees them.

4. fmw

fmw No longer a newbie, moving up!