The Plan

Formatted

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.jawns.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, I've been a photographer for 3 years now and actively seeking employment in the photography world for the last 6 months.

I have big plans, but I need to start somewhere. I'm in the process of hammering out a business plan. I'm lucky that I know lots of talented people who are interested in joining this project and earning some money in there free time.

The basic idea is to setup a front, somewhere we are able to sell our ideas, products and services. Custom music, photographs, photography services, advertising via blogs and other such projects. Website design and SEO are also things we would offer. We can all agree the market is saturated with things like this, which is why we are looking to sell our selves as a very personal business, where the customer has optimum contact with the person who is managing that "job".

It will also be a place I can refer people to when they ask to see some of my work, as Flickr is not the greatest portfolio.

So why am I writing this, well I thought I would share the dream with you. But I also need a name, the original idea was "Wright Creative" but it is already in Company House.

How do you feel about "Wright Service Productions" WSP for short?

The only employment in the photography world in the UK presently is either medical or forensic, forensic requires a HND and medical (depending on the field) requires a degree or if your a member of the BIPP or MPA I think they have some training or course which needs to be done then you still have to do the degree while on the job, if, you get one.

The only other way forward, depending on whether you have a studio or not is to knock on doors with a very strong portfolio, become a sole trader and do a lot of marketing/networking or second shoot/assist.