The RAW vs Jpeg debate

VaE39

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been shooting for about 2 years now and had yet to shoot in RAW. After reading all these debates I decided to shoot in RAW to test it out so I could be able to adjust and save pictures. So after coming back from just a random shoot to see the results, I put the pictures on my pc and I can't open the files. Is there a program typically used to view them? Or should I just go back to shooting JPEG?

BTW I just got the new macbook pro and photoshop cs4...well its on its way soon. Would I be able to view RAW files on that?

I didn't know there was a debate..

Adobe ACR is probably the most well known, it is a plug in that you can download for photoshop. Search that, or Capture NX any of the name brand ones. Or I think iPhoto can read them now as well, but you have your important blue PC! so i dunno... ?

RAW files are proprietary for each manufacturer. You should have a reader on the software disk that came with your camera. If you don't, your CS4 should take care of that problem -- it is packaged with Adobe Camera Raw which is up-to-date with most of the common RAW file formats. Even though I have a couple of RAW decoders (including Canon's own and Capture One), I use Adobe Camera Raw.

Once you get your macbook pro and CS4 you will be able to view your RAW files.
Use Adobe Bridge to view RAW files, also to edit in the Bridge camera raw adjustment area (which is amazing)

Please don't ever shoot in Jpeg again. :)
Best of luck!

quick question. what is the real advantage of shooting in RAW? is it that jpeg is a compressed format and RAW is uncompressed so you can edit better with RAW photos?

With JPEG, your camera interprets the sensor data, and adds sharpening (rather dumbly), vibrance, contrast and so on to the image, then discards all the original sensor data and outputs an 8 bits/channel JPEG, which is compressed and contains far less data than the RAW file.