The X-E1 killed my T2i

NorthbyNorthwest

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As a semi-pro part time portrait photographer, I have been using the T2i for the past 2 years and I have a 50mm 1.4 and the 24-105L. But since the introduction of the Fuji X100, I have been lusting after trying on and simplifying and reducing the size and weight of my kit. Having gone back and forth for more than 6 months about whether to upgrade to the 5D MkII or change to the Fuji X system, I finally made my decision and picked up a very lightly used X-E1 with the 18-55 zoom on Saturday. So far, I am very impressed with this camera. My biggest complaint with the T2i has been the ISO performance where images about Iso 800 became unusable with ugly noise which led me to pick up a speedlight (which I hate) or refuse to shoot inside pictures. I am happy to report the Fuji has completely won me over with its ISO performance, and the quality (especially the lens quality) has me listing my old gear on Craigslist. From what I can tell for my purposes, the optics of the Fuji X lenses are on par with Canon L glass for less than half the price generally.

I take it to my first paid gig on Friday and I think I'll throw the Canon in the car but I can't foresee a situation where I would want to use it. Portraits aren't exactly sports so the Autofocus speed is a non-issue for me. The built in "Film Simulations" create beautiful jpegs and I am particularly fond of the B&W ones (there are four) and the ability to cycle through them while checking the Electronic viewfinder and seeing the real world updates before the shot is even taken. Beautiful.