Theatre Photography

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by dinodan, May 27, 2007.

1. dinodan

dinodan TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I quit my regular job and moved here a year ago to be with my elderly father. Since then, I've been doing marketing communications (writing) for a couple of clients. This has kept the wolf from the door and sure as heck beats commuting and dealing with office politics.

I've always loved photography, and have been thinking of ways to use it to earn some extra $. There are several theatres here in town, and I had the idea to try pitching one of them on my doing some production / publicity shots for them. It's something I've always been interested in but have never done. I sent an email to the executive director of one theatre, basically saying that I'm an experienced photographer, but that I had not done theatrical work before. Because of that, I would only charge them for the photos that they use and would not charge by the hour.

Lo and behold, I got an answer from the lady saying that she would like to talk to me! I'm sure that I can do the work. I have a 50 1.4, 85 1.8, 105 2.5 and 180 2.8, among other lenses. I plan to shoot mainly (even exclusively?) black & white, and can do both film and digital (though the D80 will only really work with the 50 and 85, unless I use a separate meter). Available light only, of course.

I just don't know how much to quote for each shot that they want to buy. I plan to turn the purchased photos over to them on CD, not retaining any rights other than to use them in my portfolio for drumming up more such business. Any thoughts or words of wisdom?

2. morydd

morydd TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit