Thinking about a p&s. help me

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by logan9967, Mar 1, 2008.

1. logan9967

logan9967 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    i've been praying that i could go to brazil this summer for 6 months. of course i want to take pictures there, but a couple reasons are keeping me from bringing my dslr. the first being the difficulty of brining all the equipment and a tripood through airport security and having to lug it around anytime i want to take pictures even if its just when im out with friends. the next being that americans and sometimes pried upon and i don't want to have issues with theft. you know what i'm saying, better holding a $500 small camera in my pocket than a vulnerable 3 grand hanging by some straps on my back.
    so basically that's it. i don't think anyone can convince me to bring it :p, but if you happen to, i will also be purchasing a point and shoot and leave the dslr in the house practically all the time. anyway.
    i'm in the market for a point and shoot. i only want canon, i refuse to shoot with anything else ;) and i want 8-12 megapixels depending on what you guys can tell me. I want it to be very reliable, i want to have a decent battery life, i'll buy an extra battery if necessary. my number one choice right now is the canon powershot SD950 IS. and yes this is the very camera i said i would never trade my 20d for :blushing:, which is in fact true, but i feel like i'm running to a point and shoot with open arms, hehe. my mom and sister have canon powershots, and having used them and played with all the settings i love them. PLEASE HELP ME!! i've never bought a point and shoot and i want to be sure i'll be happy, of course if i find out i can go to brazil and i start shopping for everything i'll go and test one out, but that day hasn't come yet and i still don't know if it will. so the internet is my resource!!!
    thanks guys :heart:

2. Rick Waldroup