Thinking about switching to Fujifilm X-E2...

gryffinwings

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I am thinking about switching from Nikon D7100 to a Fujifilm X-E2. I'm not completely sure about it yet, but I tried one for a minute at the store and was loving the ergonomics, cause I'm not completely liking smashing my nose on my Nikon screen and I wear glasses. Would like some thoughts on this. I've been looking at some of the lens and I like the selection so far. Especially the idea of the 56mm f1.2, which Nikon does't even have for APS-C. I don't have a huge investment into the Nikon system, just kit lens.

I've been shooting the X-E2 for nearly two years -- I'm very happy with the camera and plan to stick with it for the time being.
EVF has some advantages one being very accurate focusing but if I had to identify the one thing I miss having made the switch it's a nice clear OVF. Speed of continuous auto focus is another concern -- not for fast action photography.

Fuji Lenses! When I switched I was looking for a smaller camera. What made me finally choose Fuji was the glass. Fuji is making superb lenses. The 14mm f/2.8 is one of the best lenses I have ever used.

For what it's worth a lot of people like the JPEGs that the Fuji X cameras produce. I wouldn't know. Caveat: The Fuji X cameras use a unique color filter array -- X-Trans. I like it but there are issues. It is not a conventional Bayer array. I think it's better but it requires special handling during raw conversion. DXO doesn't support it so you can't use DXO's raw converter. Adobe's support of the X-Trans sensor is controversial and many photographers are unhappy with it. So if you're a confirmed LR or ACR user make sure you'll be happy with the X-Trans/Adobe combination.

DR is exceptional -- a little better than your D7100 and really only beat by leading edge FF sensors; as a result low light performance is class leading among APS cameras.