Thinking of blowing this picture up - thoughts?

BrettG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
greatview.jpg

I'm finally getting around to blowing up some pictures from my trip to Alaska back in August. I was looking through all of my pictures and came across one that I never really cared for much at first, but I love now. There's a part of a tree on the right side that I'd either like to have gotten more or less of when I snapped the picture, and it's too bad the sky was so hazy. Other than that (and the rather poor quality, but that's what you get when you goto a CVS for prints!), I thought it was a great picture. Just wanted to get some other thoughts.

If the sky wasn't as hazy, it would be much better. Try increasing saturation in Photoshop or another editor. It also seems a bit too bright/colorless towards the top and a bit blurry at the bottom. Other than that, I like the composition :) - I am a landscape fan.

Yeah, if you can't tell, I'm a photo newbie. I figure I'm not gonna get a chance to visit someplace so beautiful for awhile, so I let my camera autofocus (auto everything for that matter). I think it focused on the land rather than the trees. I've learned not to trust my camera since then :wink:

It was extremely hazy when I went. There were forest fires all over (especially as we got to this spot), creating a lot of smoke. Most of the white you see in the sky is probably from that, and not so much from clouds.

I'm glad you like the composition, that's the main thing every photographer needs to have a good grasp of. Other things can be learned as you go along (and I learned a lot from the pictures I took that trip), composition isn't as easy.

I do, but I think it's a trial version that wont work anymore. I'll have to give it a shot and see what I can do.