thinking of buying.

fire34fighter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

my names Brian Sullivan. I'm considering buying my first Digital SLR camera, and was looking for some advice. I've set a $850 limit for myself. A lot of the shots I take are action shots, as I'm a firefighter/paramedic that likes to take shots on scene. Do any cameras have some sort of an auto focus on them? Last year in highschool I took a photography class, so I have a basic understanding of the concepts of photography.

I was looking strongly at the Canon EOS 30D. I was wondering if any one could give me feedback about it?

I guess my next question is should I buy just the body, and buy a lense separate(and add on to my collection as time goes on), or buy a package.

I'm mainly looking at:
http://www.1wayphoto.com/products.asp?dept_id=10264&product_id=12336

and was wondering if anyone could give me advice as to which lense package would be best for me.

I also take a lot of photos at night, where I don't have a lot of light. Anything I should consider for that?

thanks for any information.

Ahhh! RUN AWAY FROM 1WAYPHOTO! NOW!

That site is a MAJOR SCAM from what I remeber.

Check out bhphotovideo.com or ritzcamera.com or Wolf Camera (forgot the url)

The EOS 30D Is a nice Camera though :)

the 30D with a 50m 1.8 would be a great combo. Fast lens for low light, and it's really light so you can carry it easily when on the job.
Just...buy the camera from a site like bhphotovideo.com...

If you want to get serious about low-light photography...you'll need a tripod though.

Also, pretty much every lens made now is capable of auto-focus...
But something I suggest is learning to use your center AF point. The rest are there for no reason pretty much...and just get in the way...one of the first things I did was turn the rest off.

Good luck. Also, feel free to ask as many questions as you want.

r
Ahhh! RUN AWAY FROM 1WAYPHOTO! NOW!