Thinking of Purchasing D90

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by tenlientl, Sep 28, 2008.

1. tenlientl

tenlientl TPF Noob!

Hello. I know there's a D90 thread already, but I got a question to ask and didn't want to hijack that thread.

I'm new to SLRs. I always enjoyed taking pictures with point-and-shoot cams, but I felt limited.

I'm looking to buy a DSLR. I've never taken photography lessons. I don't think I'll be taking pictures professionally, but i'm open for it. Right now it's just a hobby I've been wanting to do for a few years now.

Would the Nikon D90 be a good choice? The D-Movie intrigued me.

I was told to get a high-end SLR, but I'm afraid there's a possibility I might regret it. Like I said, it's a hobby for now.

Would the D90 be a good entry-level purchase? I also want to leave room for the fact that if I do want to get real serious, I dont want to end up having to buy a new SLR to satisy my needs.

Thanks.

Oh. If it helps. I'm interested in just taking landscape pictures. I guess if there's parties like weddings, birthdays, picnics, etc. I don't think I'll be taking pictures of people playing basketball or soccer too often.

PS: If D90 is a poor choice, any other suggestions? I just don't really want to purchase a $3,000+ DSLR, unless it's a wiser choice...

2. poopingfish

poopingfish TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    3000? Theyre around a grand body only.
    It would be a good camera, you could pick up a used D80 for the time being or even a 50d. If youre just starting something such at the D80 or 40D will do you good for awhile but wont have the movie feature.

3. ThornleyGroves

ThornleyGroves TPF Noob!

Bournemouth, Manchester, Athens, Liverpool
    Photos OK to edit
    im gettin a D90 aswell great camera, read up on them, seen lots of reviews, pretty much quality!

4. tenlientl

tenlientl TPF Noob!