This much fun for $26 should be illegal!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by stsinner, Jan 10, 2009.

1. stsinner

stsinner TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    So I bought this cheap optical slave bounce flash made by Digital Concepts on eBay brand new for $26 because it is also hot shoe mountable.. I wanted a better one than the $15 Quantarays I bought that I haven't had much luck with.. This flash is a bounce flash resembling a speed light, but it doesn't talk to the camera. It even has the red lens on the front that my SB-600 has, but has non of the capabilities of the SB-600. It's just an optical slave, and it cycles fast due to the 4AA instead of the 2 AAA of the Quantarays.

What I was really amazed at is that it fired every single time I took a picture, and I was only using the on-board flash.. Even inside the basket you'll see and facing sideways..

This is my first time playing around with a very responsive slave, and I can't wait to do more.. I know these pictures all suck, but I haven't edited them, and I haven't any idea yet how to do this type of photography effectively.. I will, though..

These were really fun:

Some bowls in my kitchen-I placed the flash in the middle bowl
    [​IMG]

In a basket
    [​IMG]

Behind a radiator
    [​IMG]

In one of my CD towers
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I asked my daughter to hold it on her lap
    [​IMG]

My wife was doing something with my baby on her lap, so I set the flash on the table in front of them.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. AlexColeman

AlexColeman TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Nice, but it is blotto in some of the pictures. Could you post a link?

3. Mgw189

Mgw189 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    You can also soften the light coming out of it by putting some wax paper over the flash.

4. inTempus

inTempus TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I just bought a new one from Amazon for $14.66 due to your review. I'll let you know how it works for me.