This or that? *Nikon Wide Angle

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Hooligan Dan, Aug 14, 2008.

1. Hooligan Dan

Hooligan Dan No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    So, I'm in the market for a new wide angle. I want to replace the sigma I've been using. It's not bad, but it's not a nikon and it has it's flaws. So I'm trying to decide between the $1500 AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED and the $1600 AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED.

I'm having trouble finding sample images for both which is making it more difficult to decide. NikonUSA claims that the 17-35 is the standard for photojournalism(which is what I do for a living) and I like the 35mm max, but I also like the 14mm end of things of the 14-24 and on paper it seems to have better optical capabilities.

Anybody have some experience or shots with either? It would be much appreciated.

Oh, and it's for a D300.

Last edited: Aug 14, 2008
  2. TamiyaGuy

TamiyaGuy No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    It all depends what you think you will be using. If you like shooting very wide photos (not necessarily landscape), then, obviously, the 14-24 would be best for you. Go into a camera store and ask to try each one out. Take a few photos with each lens at various apertures & focal lengths, then go home and look at them on a computer (possibly print some crops out). Remember: Just because you tried the lens there doesn't mean you have to buy it from there!

If you really want the extra zoom of the 17-35, then have you looked at the $1,200 Nikon AF-S 17-55mm f/2.8G lens? I've heard a lot of good things about it, and I'm even dreaming of getting one now! But yet again, try it out before you buy. That way you will certainly not be disappointed.

3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm not a Nikon aficionado...but have you considered the Tokina 11-16mm F2.8 ?