Time for a new Sony camera.

BobHelms

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I'm a newbie here. I looking for advice, opinions or good old fashioned expertise on a new Sony cameras. I have a DSC-S75. I take an occasional friends & family snap shot and it does a very good job. I use it mostly for close up work. Inside stereo equipment, printed circuit boards and the like. It does an excellent job. However it is getting old and the the display is starting to go away. I would like recommendations on a moderately (>$500) priced camera that does all the neat things the DSC-S75 does. Mostly I use macro mode, timer, and built in flash. The view finder is nice but I probably could get by without one if I could see through the display. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
Bob Helms

Here's the question: are you looking for something like a DSLR, or more something like a point-and-shoot? If you're torn between the two, I've heard good things about the Alpha a3000, kind of a combination of both. The NEX series seems promising too.

I never thought of it as a DSLR or a point and shoot. I guess it is more like the DSLR. I power it up, put it in macro mode, wait on it to get focused, and take the shot. Never planned on using any additional lenses for normal or closeup. Had not heard about the a3000, I'll look it over. Thanks.
Bob Helms

Hi Bob and welcome to the forum! The A3000 is a great camera for $398, but its kit lens only focuses down to 250cm, so you'd have to buy a $278 30mm f3.5 macro lens for closeup work down to 2.4cm.

You may want to look at something that is closer to being a successor to your DSC-S75.

The $377 Sony HX50V focuses down to 5cm, has a flash and a self-timer and will do everything you need it to do - and it will cost you less than buying into an interchangeable lens system.

Hope this is helpful,

Bill

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.