Time to buy a good camera! HELP!!!

coolhandluke

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Guys

I am totally new to this. All I know about photography is you slide your mobile phone open and press a button so as you can tell I may need a little guidance.

I love looking at good photographs, to me a good photographer is as talented as a master painter. I have been lucky to visit some nice places and have always regretted not having a good snapper.

So what I need to know is what equipment people would recommend. I would like to take some long distance wildlife shots and close-ups of insects etc. I would also like to do portraits. At the moment I am either thinking of getting a 40d with a couple of recommended lenses or a 50d with one lens and adding more lenses to it later.

What lenses will I need and will I get much better pictures with the 50d than the 40d?

One thing I do not want to do is upgrade equipment. I would rather take my time saving for kit than just buying rubbish and having to constantly upgrading.

What are Sigma lenses like? They seem quite good value for money.

What are the best beginner books.

Thanks for reading!

Luke

Lenes are far more important than the body. Especaily in this case. For insects you will want a decent macro lens and telphoto for the wildlife. You will have to wait for someone to give you advice on canon lenses as im a nikon guy. As far as sigma goes, they do make some good glass but they also make some awful ones too.

As far as improving your photos is concerned, listen to the advice of others, dont be afraid to take risks and most importantly, shoot shoot shoot.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Hi Luke...
If you have money to burn then go ahead and buy your dream camera and lens...
BUT...
Know that owning a 40D or a 50D with decent lenses will NOT magically produce "good" photographs...