Time to Buy my first medium format camera!

alexknudsen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have about $300 to spend, I just bought a film scanner for medium format

and I need my first medium format camera, I am totally new to medium format, but I really want to have the waist level viewfinder.

I am totally open to buying something beat up and old, so any suggestions are greatly appreciated

I am really into photographing portraits, and that is what I will mainly be doing

Most important question: Do you need a meter in the camera?

Your best option in that price range would be the 645 format, which would include for you something like the Mamiya 645E or the Pentax 645. A Mamiya 645 super could work but you'd be pushing the price by adding on a metering prism. It might be possible, on a good day, to find a Fuji 645 around that price.

Remember that most MF bodies are modular. That is, the prism where the meter is contained, the body, and the back, are separate. You could try looking at the 6x7 format, such as the Mamiya RB67, or the Bronica GS-1, but their metering prisms are very heavy, not usually cheap, and not that easy to find. I suggested the 645 format because they're easiest to find in affordable kits (lens, prism, body, back).

Look around KEH.com or ebay. Feel free to post any links you find, asking if it's a good deal or not.

Yes a light meter. If you like the waistlevel viewfinder and photographing portraits, I strongly recommend looking for a Rolleiflex T and a cheap handheld light meter. A decent handheld lightmeter will always come in handy, and Rolleiflexes are absolutely wonderful cameras for portraits. Check out www.keh.com.

The issue is that 90% of the time with a waist level finder you don't have a meter, because the meter is usually in the prism finder.