Tips/Essentials for photographing wooden flooring

LAURAAA

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My dad owns a wooden flooring company, and I will be taking photos of all his different kinds of wooden flooring (these will be boards, on some kind of stand) and wooden flooring finishes and other products he sells. I am new to photography using a DSLR, however I do want these to look professional as they will be going on his website. I have the Canon EOS 450D. Do you guys have any tips for photographing wooden flooring or know of must have items that I need? I have a Tripod stand and also a big white sheet which I was planning to place behind the items I am photographing.

I will either be taking photos inside an empty room (with windows + ordinary lights) or outside. I have no professional lighting. I have the 18-55 mm lens. I also have no external flash.

I heard a reflector would work well?

[ame=http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000RGRU3M/ref=s9_simh_gw_p23_i2?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_s=center-1&pf_rd_r=1B8WFHME51SF6VPSQB5Z&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=467198433&pf_rd_i=468294]Ex-Pro 5 -in- 1 Photographic Light Reflector - 42": Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo[/ame]

I will either be taking photos inside an empty room (with windows + lights) or outside. I have no professional lighting. I have the 18-55 mm lens. I also have no external flash.

Ex-Pro 5 -in- 1 Photographic Light Reflector - 42": Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo

A reflector will only work outside unless you have studio lights, If you shoot inside with your white sheet if it is not lit it will look grey, i would probably use a black background, i'm a joiner and i think it would look better against black but then if you shoot inside without lighting no background will look good

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Ah okay. What is a good kind of way of lighting a room well for taking photos? I'm worried that the dark wooden floors may not be very well visible against a black background?