TLR, and other basic questions please help!

Riggaberto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm looking into getting into medium format, but I'm fairly new to photography overall. I like the results and the challenges it seems to require. Here are my questions, I appreciate your patience:

-I'm confused overall about 120 film. It says you can have 4.5x6, 6x6, ect....but yet it's all 120 film? I dont understand the differences. I was looking on a website called freestyle photographic supplies, and the 120 film they sell doesnt show any mention of size other than 120.

-I have an old Kodak that takes 620 film. I dont even know how to describe it, but it's not a TLR. The front folds out to the side...How difficult is it to use it with 120 film?

-Those TLR box cameras:
--What used models should I look for that are very cheap used but decent enough?
--Are you stuck with 1 focal length with those things?

Any other basic advice I should know about medium format about I'm very open to, thanks for the help everyone. I was thinking about buying a holga, but if I can get an old, decently working TLR for not too horribly much I want to look into that.

I'm looking into getting into medium format, but I'm fairly new to photography overall. I like the results and the challenges it seems to require. Here are my questions, I appreciate your patience:

-I'm confused overall about 120 film. It says you can have 4.5x6, 6x6, ect....but yet it's all 120 film? I dont understand the differences. I was looking on a website called freestyle photographic supplies, and the 120 film they sell doesnt show any mention of size other than 120.

The width of the frame on the film is always the same, the length varies. So, on a 120 size film you can get 12 frames of 6x6 (centimeters, that is), 16 frames of 6x4.5, 8 frames of 6x9.