to buy or not to buy....THAT IS MY QUESTION!

leastephens1980

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
ok so my boyfriend wants to buy me a camera and i am stuck between the canon sx10 IS and the olympus e420....:banghead: any thoughts? i have read up on both of them and they both seem to be very complimented. i do not have much experince in photography but would like something that i can learn with.....

although the specs look good on that, i would like something that i can play around more with, get more zoom and focus with. this has been a passion of mine to start for some time now and i have take some decent photos with just a simple, older point and shoot and even my crappy megxon x3. these are the 2 cameras i have narrowed it down to..... but thanks for the input:hug::

explain play around more with? like offering more flexibility to control the shutter and aperture or.........?

whats the price range, just get something entry level. xt?d40?

Ive got a D40, as a beginner I find it good. OK the kit lens is limiting. Not sure how much your spending but if the D40 is less id spend the difference on a bigger lens if zoom is important to you.

Ive got a D40, as a beginner I find it good. OK the kit lens is limiting. Not sure how much your spending but if the D40 is less id spend the difference on a bigger lens if zoom is important to you.
yea, if you can get the 2 lens outfit. will run you likr 550, and comes with the 18-55 and 55-200

ok so my boyfriend wants to buy me a camera and i am stuck between the canon sx10 IS and the olympus e420....:banghead: any thoughts?
You're looking at two totally different types of cameras...one is an advanced super zoom P&S and the other is a DSLR (a very small one).
i have read up on both of them and they both seem to be very complimented. i do not have much experince in photography but would like something that i can learn with.....