Tommy_Boy pics

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Tommy_Boy, Oct 31, 2009.

1. Tommy_Boy

Tommy_Boy TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi everyone, I would like to present You some of my photos. Photography has been one of my interests for quite a while, but I've been an active "photographer" since June. I know that I'm new at this, but I hope that thanks to Your C&C's and pieces of advice I will get better and better :)

I am currently trying to find myself in the world of photography, so I try to take photos of everything that I find interesting. For my first presentation I would like to show You a couple of Black & White and Sepia photos.

1. Statue I
    [​IMG]
    By tomzdul at 2009-10-30

2. Statue II
    [​IMG]
    By tomzdul at 2009-10-30

3. Lion
    [​IMG]
    By tomzdul at 2009-10-30

4. The Way
    [​IMG]
    By tomzdul at 2009-10-30

5. Graveyard
    [​IMG]
    By tomzdul at 2009-10-30

Cheers,
    Tommy_Boy

2. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum Tommy!

C&C per req:

You've got some very interesting photos here. My main crtique point relates to exposure. I'm guessing that #s 1 and 2 were shot from some distance away, so lighting will be a challenge, but there are always options. In #1, you have deep shadows image left and blown sky image right. You could have either used a graduated ND filter to even out the exposure or perhaps considered an HDR. In #2 (which I really like) you've got some over-bright highlights which are somewhat distracting. This I think could have been resolved by simply exposing for the highlights and using levels/curves adjustments to bring the rest of the image into correct exposure.