Too much noise...

aussie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to digital photography and happy owner of D70s. Happy but little disappointed. I've tried to take some pictures of an early and foggy morning. I know that noise is caused by low light, but I've seen much better quality photos. Also bluish cast... Is there any chance to get rid of those problems?
DSC_0001.jpg

hey aussie. welcome to TPF!

to better help us assess your concern, please privide as much technical data as possible i.e., mode you shot in, white balance setting, jpeg/RAW quality, etc. maybe the problem is in camera, maybe not. lets get this info and go from there!

Jon

Technical detail is definitely required here. The level of noise that appears to show in that photo is not typical of a D70 when it is using a low ISO (200) and on the higher quality settings (fine or RAW) as far as resolution.

What ISO were you using and what image quality was it set to? Shooting jpeg or raw?

Have you seen similar noise in other photos you've taken with it?

Chase said:
Technical detail is definitely required here. The level of noise that appears to show in that photo is not typical of a D70 when it is using a low ISO (200) and on the higher quality settings (fine or RAW) as far as resolution.

What ISO were you using and what image quality was it set to? Shooting jpeg or raw?

Have you seen similar noise in other photos you've taken with it?

you know, i would like to see not only the data but a large version also, is that possible?

I've had the same noise issues when shooting fog with my D70. The longer the exposure, the more noise, and it tends to show a lot more prominently in heavily grey areas. I agree with Jon and Chase, show us your EXIF data.