Total and Absolute newbie - please assist?

Saffronkitten

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello. Recently I helped my friend with her chritsmas present for her boyfriend, a series of pictures of her. she liked the work I did and i had a lot of fun taking the pictures. a couple more of my friends liked them too and now they want pictures done too! I'm really enjoying this snap-happy career. but the problems are: I have never before done anything with the intention of it looking professional, I cannot afford anything more than the digital camara I already own, I'm the tender age of 15.

does anyone have any advice on getting started please? It would be much appreciated.

Are you looking to start a photography business or just continue doing occasional shoots for friends? Like Corry said, there are many aspects to running a business....

First of all, welcome to the forums.

Secondly, what kind of gear do you have at this point? If you are really serious about photography you might want to get a part time job and earn a little extra money.

ahelg said:
First of all, welcome to the forums.

Secondly, what kind of gear do you have at this point? If you are really serious about photography you might want to get a part time job and earn a little extra money.

An extra job? Heh heh..funny but true! I have three of them.

Well seing as this person is 15 I expect he/she is still going to school and probably does not have a job. If this is the case, get one.

I'm impressed. What are they.

Welcome to the site.

Photography is broad subject and there is an endless amount of stuff to learn. It's great though and you have come to the right place.

If you just want to take nice portraits of your friends & family with the camera you have...Lighting will make a huge difference to how professional your photos look.