Total Beginner!

Pixie42

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

Thanks for having me! I can tell I'm gonna love this forum. :blushing:

Well, I am a complete beginner besides the photog class I took in high school. I've always been in love with photography, but I've never had the best cameras. I have tons of pics that I have taken that are decent, at least I think so, but I'd like to get a better cam and some experience.

I've decided I am going to start looking around for a photographer who will take me under his/her wing as an apprentice. I would prefer not to go to college, just because... well... if you have the talent, you have it. If not, all that technical stuff can just as easily be learned from a pro. Right? Besides, if I find I don't have a talent for it, I can always go to college for something else. (My rationality speaking!)

Anyhoo I am looking for a decent cam, used of course, just to start doing some simple jobs on my own, taking amateur pics for people for some pocket cash.

I was looking at a Nikon D70 DSLR for sale. Is this a good beginner camera? I'm trying to buy something that is good for beginners, yet has great picture quality and prints will also be of good quality.

Any advice is appreciated. Oh, and I own a Canon PowerShot A430.

first off, welcome to the site. you will learn more here than you can comprehend at the moment, so I hope you are ready (which you seem to be).

As far as apprenticing, it will depend on how good you already are, because if you dont know much I cant see a pro wanting to hand out free classes. Usually people apprentice photographers to further their skill in a particular area (weddings, portraits, sports), and it works out well for the pro because they get an extra hand that already has enough basic knowledge to not be dead weight.

I cant say where you are since I havent seen any of your pictures, so you have to decide where you fit.