Total Newb...Sports/Nature Photography Biz

Gerald-NC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've recently decided to try my hand at real photography in the hopes of one day making money at it. I love clicking pics but never really owned a "great" camera so to speak. I don't have an unlimited budget to begin with.

My wants:

Digi camera worthy of somewhat "fast" shots, lens adaptable, preferrably less than $300...really in the low 2's lol. I've seen some non SLR Fuji's for around $220 or so shipped that lenses can be fit to...unless I'm mistaken. I've seen some DSLR "Bodies" for around $250...but they say "No Lense incl" so I suppose I'd have to also buy a lense before I could even use these? (Nikon D50 for $250 and Cannon Eos Rebel XT for $289)

Favorite sports include Auto Racing of all kinds, Football, and Basketball. So this gives an idea of the "speed" I may need from a camera.

I also enjoy landscapes...mountains mostly, nature, random persons, some architecture I suppose, autos for sure.

Biggest photo blow ups would probably be in the 30x30" range.

Why I think this is what I want to do for a living:

I truely love taking photographs every where I go to share my experience with others. I love saving the moment. I love the emotion that some of the greatest photos can bring a person to. I believe the best "careers" are those that the person would do if there was no money involved...in other wors something you'd do for free :D

About me: