Total Newbie looking for info on SLR

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by oldschoolornew, Jan 6, 2010.

1. oldschoolornew

oldschoolornew TPF Noob!

Hi,
    I am interested in starting to do some film photography. I am looking for advice on a camera to buy. I want to buy some older camera perhaps from craigslist.
    I remember reading a lot of discussion a while ago on what brand / model people should buy, but it has been a while and I'm just now coming back to this idea.
    So my question is what's a good brand? I remember reading that a certain brand can fit all the lenses made by the brand, while other cameras have different connectors and only fit some of the lenses. Also what is a good model to look for.

I know this sounds very general, but perhaps someone could share a link to a nice article particularly on this topic.

Thank you everyone.

2. Mike_E

Mike_E No longer a newbie, moving up!

The Upper West Side of Mississippi (you have no i
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi and welcome!

Better questions to answer would be what is your budget, what is your experience, what would you like to mainly shoot and would you rather have a camera that you can ease into digital with or go really old school and has the Cool factor?

3. oldschoolornew

oldschoolornew TPF Noob!

Thank you for your response.
    I have no experience other that playing with an Olympus OM10 that ended up not working :lol:
    I'm not concerned with digital really yes, in fact it's the opposite - I probably want to stick to 35mm film.
    My budget is not a problem. However, I am looking for a nice used cam that's more timeless but still full of good features - basically I want it to be as cheap as I can get it with it still being a great piece of equipment. I liked the OM10, but again I have no clue what I am talking about. And as I kind of mentioned in the OP, I want to be able to find lenses for it with relative ease.