Total noob! help needed!

photocrazy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So, I've been interested in photography for a while and used to take pictures with my old point and shoot but I gave it away , when I went to college.
Now, I really want a camera and was looking into buying one but have a really tight budget. I'm getting a used Canon Rebel XT locally soon. I'm taking the camera to a camera shop , so that the person there can check if everything is fine with it before buying it. The camera doesn't come with a lens and I'm hoping you guys would help a newbie choose out a lens for taking pictures of pretty much everything and tell me the prices of it.
Thanks.
:D

The new canon kit lens is supposed to be good value 18-55 IS.
Good optics, 4 stop IS, decent range for walkaround.

Nifty fifty 50mm 1.8 is also value, but wouldn't be my choice as a first lens on a 1.6 crop camera.

A range of 18-135 (or so) it usually a fairly economical choice with a lot of flexibility in the lens. I use those specific numbers because Nikon makes such a lens, but I don't know what the equivelent is in the Canon space.

Just want to see if you have an old Canon camera (can be defective) laying around. If you do, you maybe able to get a [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]refurbished XT from Canon for $275 with the kit lens.

[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Canon Loyalty program
Call the techsupport number
[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] 866-443-8002 or 800-828-4040 and mention the Canon Loyalty program. They will ask you the old Canon camera serial number and you will need to ship the old (can be defective) Canon back to them.

[/FONT]

Just want to see if you have an old Canon camera (can be defective) laying around. If you do, you maybe able to get a [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]refurbished XT from Canon for $275 with the kit lens.

[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Canon Loyalty program
Call the techsupport number