Total noob looking for a camera...

qiktune

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys, firstly I gotta tell all you people - I've been lurking this site for a some time now and the pics that you are all posting are astounding!!!!

My wife has registered here (she's the photgrapher) registered a while back but has yet to post anything.
My question to all you fine people is this:

I would like to buy her a new camera (Digi SLR) but am a bit confused. She seems really keen on the Nikon D50 and although they look sensational, the price has dropped on these over the last couple of weeks and was wondering if there was any particular reason.

We're in Sydney, Australia and from what I can see on the net a D50 can be had for AUD$999.99 now (Teds Camera Store) with the bare essentials. Should I go out to my local camera store and ask them to match the price and throw in a memory card or the like or is this asking too much? I don't know a thing about cameras...

You might want to know what she's using now to make a comparison/suggestion on the type of lens etc I should buy at this stage.

At the moment she's snapping away with a Fuji Finepix ???? digital compact and a Canon (regular film - dont know what it is).

Your help would be most appreciatted.

If she is using a Canon fil SLR I assume she has canon lenses. it would be wise to utilie her investment in Canon lenses by getting a Caon DSLR. The 350D Is the lowest price model in production but you migh tbe able to get a new 10D somewhere (the predecessor) to the 20D.

If I misunderstood then ignore me.

Thanks for the reply Daniel. The Canon is an EOS 700QD with a 35-80mm lens, doesn't mean much to me but it uses "regular film" and she'd like to head the digital route.

Thanks in advance for the input.

qiktune said:
Thanks for the reply Daniel. The Canon is an EOS 700QD with a 35-80mm lens, doesn't mean much to me but it uses "regular film" and she'd like to head the digital route.

Thanks in advance for the input.