trading shutter speed with pic quality?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by leotopia, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. leotopia

    leotopia TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto, canada
    I bought a Ricoh Caplio RX. The ad says it has the quickest shooting speed (said leo unprofessionally), which means that the time from you press the shutter to the picture being taken is very very short, while other camaras have to "think" a while before taking the shot. My concern is, is it trading off the thinking time which is related to the picture quality for the shooting speed?
     
  2. santino

    santino TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Austria, heart in Poland -->
    don't know your camera but usually cameras have different shutter speeds (this is necessary cause you will face different light sources and if you don't wanna get overexposured pics you(the camera) gotta set the right speed). Maybe it has a "ultra fast" shutter but only in special situations depending on light and on what you want to capture.
     
  3. leotopia

    leotopia TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto, canada
    Thanks, I knew I didn't explain right. I think its not the shutter speed that's fast, its rather the time between your pressing the button and the picture being captured is short. Vs. eg. a Sony camara I used, after pressing the shooting button, it thinks for a while. May it was taking measurements and calculating for the right setting......Is it a little bit more clear?
     
  4. santino

    santino TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Austria, heart in Poland -->
    I see. In this case I don't think you have to worry about the quality, it has simply a faster processor (or whatever it's called) and calculates the right settings faster.
     
  5. leotopia

    leotopia TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto, canada
    Ur fast. I was soldering a resistor and came back, there's the answer! Thanks pal.
     
  6. Goofup

    Goofup TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middle of Oklahoma
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Shutter speed (1/125, 1/500, etc.) won't effect quality.

    Usually if you press the shutter half-way down, it looks at the scene and pre-calculates everything- focus, shutter speed, aperture, etc. and "locks it", waiting for you to hit the button.

    Pressing the shutter the rest of the way actually takes the picture, but there may be a period of time from the time you press the shutter and the time it actually records the scene, otherwise known as "shutter lag". For instance, you may hit the shutter just as a diver hits the water, but it actually records it after he's halfway in. If you take a lot of action shots you get a feel for your camer's shutter lag and compensate for it. Naturally, if you don't pre-lock the scene and just hit the shutter, it has to do all the above (focus, calculate exposure, and record the scene) all at once which can take even more time.

    None of the above effect the quality.
     
  7. Ant

    Ant TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Luton. UK.
    Well, that's not strictly true.

    If, like me, you've got a bit of the old 'shakey hands syndrome' then a higher shutter speed will certainly improve the quality of your picture by preventing blurring....especially if you're shooting with a zoom lens and no tripod.
     
  8. leotopia

    leotopia TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto, canada
    [quote/]For instance, you may hit the shutter just as a diver hits the water, but it actually records it after he's halfway in. [/quote]

    I think that's what i'm talking about. My camara has a really small Shtter Lag. And it's not an expensive camara. Is it bc the processor's really fast, or is it not doing enough "thinking"?
     
  9. Ant

    Ant TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Luton. UK.
    I really don't quite understand your concern here. Do you like the quality of photos that your camera takes?

    If yes, then there's no problem. If no then get a different camera. I don't think that delving into the way it works has much bearing on that essential question.
     
  10. leotopia

    leotopia TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto, canada
    I really don't quite understand your concern here. [/quote]

    It's rather the wondering of this technology. Not whether I've bought the right camara. Thanks for ur info
     
  11. jadin

    jadin The Mad Hatter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Down the Rabbit Hole.
    This shouldn't be a problem unless its digital. Digital is known for it's lag. I think the fastest digitals right now are the 20D and the D2H. Film should be so fast you don't notice any lag whatsoever.

    Lower quality? Seems doubtful. If anything the quality might be higher. Better craftsmanship in one area, might be better craftsmanship overall.
     

Share This Page