Travel Insurance (No home or renter's insurance suggestions please)

Nasir

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Guys,

I am planning to spend 4 weeks in Southeast Asia starting mid-august and I am desperately trying to find some sort of travel or equipment insurance for my 1500 dollars worth of equipment. It's not much, but I'm a poor college student and I cannot realistically afford spend another 1500 dollars to replace everything if I somehow lose it all.

Everywhere I've searched has said that I can add a floater or a rider to my home and/or renters insurance. However, the problem is that I live in the dorms 9 months of the year and I do NOT have either home or renters insurance.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should do? Is there a insurance company somewhere that insures camera equipment only? Should I just start calling insurance companies to find out?

Right now I am looking at travel insurance. However, if the rates are relatively low for year-round coverage, i am very interested too.

Thanks!

Should I just start calling insurance companies to find out?
That should be your first step. You might also consider calling travel agencies but it will go back to an insurance company one way or another.

That should be your first step. You might also consider calling travel agencies but it will go back to an insurance company one way or another.

Yea, that's probably a good idea. An addendum to my original question - does anyone have any idea which insurance company offers the cheapest (though still quality) coverage? I have a feeling I'll have to spend a lot of time on the phone with multiple insurance agents and I would really appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks

Sorry, I have no idea. There is probably a wide range...