Travel Zoom Or Mirrorless

hoyoyo80

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi...im new here so greeting!!!

Im also new to photography, but started to like to take photos, i mean purposely going out to take photos with my huawei mate 9 phone..

But lately im thinking on extending the hobby, i mean on getting better skills and image quality than my smartphone.

So im asking which of these two is beginner friendly and better to learn in long run.
Im eyeing on Canon SX730 and Nikon J5. Canon sx730 because of built in zoom lens and Nikon J5 for better sensor(?) but...but...lens are quite expensive.

So i hope im asking the right thing to help my decision.

Thanks

Welcome to the forum. I don't suggest either of them. If you really want Mirrorless for the same price get the Sony A5000. Much better sensor performance over the Nikon. Basicaly a full step up in corlor rendition, full stop better in dynamic range (ability to show difference between light and dark), and much much better in low light. It's only downfall is it's monitor has 1/2 the resolution. For that reason and for the same price you can get a Nikon D3400 and a lens. Even better performance than the Sony A5000. A full step up from the Sony in color rendition, a full step up again in dynamic range, and about 1/3 step up in low light capabilities. But the D3400 will be slightly bigger. Lots of lens choices, and easy to learn on. Room to expand to many areas of photography. I have the previous model the D3300 for my work travel camera. I also have larger more capable cameras as well. But I still use the D3300. Forgot to mention the D3400 will have much much better battery life than the Mirrorless cameras.