austriker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.dlindahlphotos.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi there,

so coming up here in january i am studying abroad through my school's program in guatemala. i am really looking forward to it, learning the culture and being immersed in a español. i just upgraded from a d40 to a d300 and i really would like to bring a camera to take photos. i am thinking about bringing my d40 or an old P/S.. HOWEVER if i can get traveler's insurance than i would LOVE to bring my d300..my friend told me his friend got traveler's insurance for his DLSR when he went to africa. state farm is my insurance company and i looked over their website but couldnt find anything about this.

what do you guys think? have you traveled to a third world country with a nice DSLR? Who offers travelers insurance and should i use it on my d300?

I would call State Farm and ask them. I don't think I would travel to a country like that without insurance.

Yup, just call them up. They will have much better info that we will have ;)

My homeowner's insurance covers my possessions, even if I take them on vacation...or so they say.

okay. sounds like a plan..
the only hitch is that i am a college student therefore i dont really have homeowners insurance. so hopefully i can be 'protected' under my parents plan..

They could probably give you a quote for a short term traveling policy...or maybe you could just get a policy on your specific gear.

As a college student look into renter's insurance, insures all the belongings you own in your place.
N.gif

I travel to third world countries frequently, and usually try to get travelers' insurance, although I'm not always consistent with this! :D