Traveling with another photographer

jbabra

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm an amateur photographer and I'm planning on traveling to Asia with one of my best friends, who is a professional photographer. I started to wonder if photographing together on the trip might lead to some competitiveness and conflict. I imagine there might be a time where he think I should back off something since he takes it more seriously than me.

Has anyone had any experience traveling with another photographer?

You can surely be of help to one another, but each of you has to be sensitive to the other needing some space, and give it to them.

4 eyes are always better than 2 when finding the out of the ordinary or particular view. If this person is really a friend. You will have a great trip. And they being a professional should not matter unless he is going for an assignment and its for work. That would be a different story. But if your both going for pleasure. The it should not matter if he is a pro or not!

I agree with jeep, and didn't catch the fact that they are a pro - that can be even better for you.

You will probably learn a TON from them...

But since they are getting paid, you might have to defer to what they need sometimes during the trip.

As long as he is ok with you shooting when he is shooting, and you are ok with him shooting when you are shooting, then its all good.

I love doing photography with other photographers. Not a bunch, but 1-2 others is great. We bounce ideas off each other, discuss shots, angles and what not. Keeping the communication going is great.

I have spotted shots where all photographers took a stab and others got better results than I did. Great way to learn and be able to see the same thing through someone else's eyes

I just want to mention that this is a leisure trip for both of us, so you are correct that this is not work and neither of us are being paid.