Trip To Hawaii

Michael_Black

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am a rank newbie to the forum and photography in general. Last year my wife and I took our first trip since we graduated from college. We just up and went to Yellowstone and went through the Badlands on the way out. We both love the outdoors and just fell in love with the amazing landscapes we saw and photography in general. We bought a Kodak DX7590 a couple days before the trip.

Anyway, I am obsessed with moving water/streams/waterfalls. As a fly fisherman I study the water and how it moves around various objects. I have always loved the photos of streams where the water is "strung out." I understand this takes a slower shutter speed to obtain the image over a length of time. I was able to get a few nice ones from Yellowstone but most ended up to bright. I think this has to do a little bit with the aperature and ISO.

This July my wife and I are taking a trip to Hawaii. We want to take some amazing photos and I know there are many waterfalls. I would love to take a few nice photos with moving water.

If anyone has and ideas or help with settings or anything else that might help I would be forever grateful.
LewisFalls.jpg

Badlands2.jpg

Badlands1.jpg

GrandTetons.jpg

Welcome to the forum.

You are correct, it takes long shutter speeds to get those smooth running water shots. The longer the shutter is open, the more light gets in...as you know...that's why the shots are often too bright.

First thing to do is set the ISO to the lowest setting. Then use the smallest aperture (biggest F number). Probably best to use aperture priority mode if you have it. This will give you the longest shutter speed for the scene. (maybe could go a little slower to underexpose the shot).