Tripod ballhead assistance/recommendations

ionz13

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new at photography and am picking it up as a hobby.

I'm having trouble deciding what ballhead to get for it. I really enjoy the Markins Q3, but think that is too expensive for just an amateur. What I'm looking for is something similar to the Markins Q3 (easy to adjust on the fly, "sweet spot") and I also would like a bubble attached to the head.

The tripod I'm set on is the Manfrotto/Bogen 190XproB
479927.jpg

I've been looking at the Manfrotto/bogen 488RC0 and am wondering if the plate and quick release mechanism can be changed out at all?
272989.jpg

any recommendations on a different ballhead?

I have the 322RC2 Grip Action Ballhead and I like it a lot. I set up the grip for my left hand, leaving my right hand free to operate the camera. I use the grip handle to position the camera. This way I can reposition and shoot quickly.

I was leaning away from the Grip head b/c I want something a bit more compact. Thanks for the help though.

=ionz13;1509819]I'm new at photography and am picking it up as a hobby.

I'm having trouble deciding what ballhead to get for it. I really enjoy the Markins Q3, but think that is too expensive for just an amateur.

Why, what has being an amature got to do with the cost of a piece of equipment that you are going to use? I understand if you say it's too exensive and if I buy it I won't be able to put food on the table for the kids for a week. Quality comes at a cost amature or not. Otherwise we would all be driving Yugo's. (No offense intended to any Yugo drivers.)

What I'm looking for is something similar to the Markins Q3 (easy to adjust on the fly, "sweet spot") and I also would like a bubble attached to the head.