Tripod help please

mkoop

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I apologize for this being a bit of a please hold my hand post...

I am new to photography - by new I mean I have been shooting a D200 for about 4 years.

Now to the lenses... I enjoy shooting macro and landscape. I go on several multiple day backpacking trips a few times each year with my gear. Going forward I plan to take three lenses on my trips. An 11-16 f2.8, a 16-85 f3.5 and my 105 f2.8 for macro. Occasionally I may end up bringing the telephoto which is a 70-300 f4.5 but have left it behind more recently due to the lack of wildlife photography I usually end up doing on these hikes, though I know not having it along will probably bite me at some point... tough decisions when you have to carry gear for 5-7 days and 75+ miles on your back.

On to the problem and my question...

The tripod I bought to use locally (haven't backpacked with it) is to simply put ... garbage. It doesn't support the weight of my camera with the lens that I have, sure it makes holding it in place easier, but it constantly tips downward from the weight.

I need to start bringing a light weight dependable tripod on these hikes.
What is important to me in a tripod? In order of importance to me.

1. Functionality - If it can't hold my camera in place with the the lenses listed above, I wont even consider it.
2. Weight - I need something lightweight for these trips, but NOT at the sacrafice of functionality, I will cut weight in other areas if that is what it comes to.
3. Footprint - It must be a reasonable size to strap onto the outside of a pack
4. Durability - It will be with me on backpacking trips... I will treat it as best I can but it will be strapped to a pack...