Tripod / Monopod for travel advice

W8KT

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am fairly new to outdoor photography but I am really enjoying the hobby. I am planning several trips this summer, one to Yellowstone. I have an XSI and plan on using my Sigma 50-500 on the trips. I am looking for a good, portable, sturdy solution. Since I will be flying I would like something that can collapse to a small size yet be strong enough for the weight and the rigors of travel. I am not interested in the expensive carbon fiber type units but a more reasonable priced unit would be great.

You have two choices ... tripod or monopod ... but you have already figured that out.

I travel on long hikes with a monopod with a small ball head. It assists with camera shake but is no good for long exposures (I mean 1/4s or slower). It is good enough for me shooting in shady wooded areas.

Any tripod that is sturdy will add some weight ... no matter how light it is, it will feel heavy after a long hike.

On shot hikes I take a tripod ... I use a Manfrotto 190 with a medium ball head, it does the job even though it is not the best I could choose. It is a compromise I choose over my previous sturdier tripod.

Bogen/Manfrotto, makes a great one.

In the past (don't hike much anymore), I would bring along a monopod w/ball head and heavy duty rubber bands (or. even better.. Welcome to BongoTies.com!). Most of the time, the monopod was enough. On the occasions I needed more stability, I would strap the monopod to a tree/bush or find two other sticks and make a tripod. It worked fairly well and weighed next to nothing. Creative minds will come up with creative solutions...

Enjoying hiking is as much comfort as the hike itself.

I use my monopod alot more than my tripods. Also if you are in city shooting situations a tripod can get you into trouble as, where a monopod is unobtusive so, it isnt frowned upon as much.