Trouble with Canon Digital and Flash

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by Todd Krueger, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. Todd Krueger

    Todd Krueger TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Canon Digital Rebel with a Canon 420 EX Speedlite. When I take an inside picture with the Speedlite on in the Auto mode(or any mode for that matter) the picture comes out about 95% dark, I can faintly make out the image but barely. When I remove the Speedlite and use the little built in flash then the photo comes out just fine. I called Canon and they seem to think the Flash may be bad and that I would need to send it in. I restored all factory defaults and have the same results. My wife and I just had a new baby 1 week ago and the picture quality with the little built in flash sucks and its killing me to not get good pictures of her as I did with my son. I've had this set up for about 5 years and have had flawless use of it. Thanks alot,,, I appreciate it!
     
  2. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Is the flash firing?
     
  3. Sontizzle

    Sontizzle TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    sorry but i just LOL'd.

    if its coming out dark it seems like the flash isnt syncing with the camera when the shutter button is pressed. it may be firing too late or too early.
     
  4. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It was a very legit question.
     
  5. Todd Krueger

    Todd Krueger TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, Canon themselves asked the same question. Yes it is firing but I don't know if it is syncing correct. I went to a "Camera Repair" shop yesterday here in Houston yesterday and all they were interested in was telling me how much it would cost,,,,before I could tell them the whole scenario. My brother is sending me one of his extra flashes, that way I can see if it is my flash or my camera. I'm kind of baffled by it,,,thanks for the questions,,,
     

Share This Page