Trying to capture loneliness/desperation

billybob

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is what I was able to come up with:

I think the cropping is perfect but I'm not sure that I'm happy with what I did with the colors and, obviously, the fact his jeans now look like they have blue ink stains is not all that appealing to me, although I don't mind it too much.

Here is the before picture for comparison (and in case anyone wants to mess around with it and show me what they would do with it).

I welcome all kinds of criticism though I am mostly concerned with the colors in the image. Two people mentioned that the green was too bright and distracted from the subject (the young boy), so I was attempting to tone that down and bring the boy to the forefront. Please keep in mind that I am an absolute beginner.

This picture was taken in an orphanage in Tijuana and I intend to use it as part of my presentation to recruit volunteers for an upcoming trip to said orphanage.

Very, very nice.
IMO, the desat of the green really works.
If this were mine, I would try to add to the idea by showing this with a muted border.
I took the original, added a desat adjustment layer and then tried the different layer blending styles - every one looked great for your purpose, I just picked this one at random.

Great picture.

dscn0947compedqv7mattedrl2.jpg

The composition of both of these shots really bugs me. There's strange shadows near the top right, and the comp is really weird in the original.

Very, very nice.
IMO, the desat of the green really works.
If this were mine, I would try to add to the idea by showing this with a muted border.
I took the original, added a desat adjustment layer and then tried the different layer blending styles - every one looked great for your purpose, I just picked this one at random.

Great picture.

dscn0947compedqv7mattedrl2.jpg