Trying to Decide on a Website Overhaul ... Or Not?

A

astrostu

My personal photography site template worked well for the first few months ... when I had around 5 sub-pages and maybe a dozen or two photos.

Now, it feels clunky and semi-amateurish to me and I think it lacks a good navigational/organizational structure. I also want to add another few dozen photos (from the last few months, like fireworks, Hawai'i, Northern Arizona sightseeing, etc.), but I don't want to do that until I've settled on a new format (or not), nor if I should be adding them to their own "events" page or dividing them among the structure that's in place (like Hawai'i had some animals, flowers, waterfalls, and general scenery, all of which are on different pages on my site at the moment).

So a few things I'm asking about, specifically. First, do you think the site needs a general template change, and if so, what would you suggest? Keep in mind that I have been doing HTML since 1997 so prefer to code my own stuff and have no desire to pay for any pro stuff. I also refuse to use Flash.

If you think the current format works, I'm looking for a comments on the following things, and how you like them or suggested changes:

- Navigation, including tree structure and way the navigation is set up.
- General layout within each page.
- Prose within each page.
- Information accompanying most images.
- Purchasing page. And should this information be displayed in some other way throughout the site, or within this page, or both ... ?
- Anything else that may come to mind!

Also, does my price structure seem reasonable? I'm trying to be reasonably cheap while still having at least a 3x markup (except on the 4x6). And, should I be watermarking the photos given the preview sizes I provide?

Thanks in advance for looking. Link.