Trying to get better zoom for my buck?

charlottedunn77

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello All!
This is my first post. Please excuse my ignorance if I say something stupid. I have a Nikon D5100 with a 50 and 200mm lenses. I am by no means professional or even a novice, I am a beginner. I am doing a webstie for my boss who is opening up an exotic game ranch. We went out there last weekend and I took some great pictures. However, I have realized I need a lens or teleconverter with greater zoom. I have realized that lenses with greater zoom are out of my budget, and teleconverters could be tricky for me because I am not that good at manual focusing. Also, with the environment I may have to take the camera out and set it on a tripod quickly in order to get good shots. I am thinking the way Im going to be taking photographs is by riding around in an ATV until I see something, and If I get out I could spook the animal; or may not have enough time to set up. I would like to spend under $300.

What would y'all recommend for me and my situation?

You're going to be hard pressed to get anything longer than 200mm for <$300, except perhaps for a used 70-300mm. If this is a 'one time' requirement, you might be better off to rent something like Nikon's 200-400 f4 for a week. As for access, I would skip the ATV; if these are truly wild animals, you're going to have a hard time getting within range, rather, I would opt for a horse, which will not only give you elevation, but much greater stealth.

$300 and the phrase good telephoto lens simply cannot coexist, anywhere in the known universe. Your boss must be an incredible cheapskate, and likely a foolish businessman if he doesn't understand the need for publicity and advertising images of high quality for something like an exotic game ranch.