Two for C&C - Great Falls National Park

Connada123

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm pretty new to this stuff, but here are two of my recent photos for C&C. The first one is an in-camera HDR (my first ever, and it probably shows) and I know it looks way over baked, but it's growing on me. Tell me if it's just because it's mine, or if it legitimately sucks. The second one I just used a slow shutter speed on (~2"). Please, feel free to hit me with both barrels.

4716581284_1f89abc9e3_b.jpg

4715937279_337447122d_b.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to look at these, and hopefully telling me how I can improve them.

-Dan

I think the first is just slightly overdone. I love the heron in the second.

Beautiful scenes nonetheless. : )

Wow, the photos looks very nice. Did the bird stay still for the 2 seconds exposure? lol

There are actually two birds, and out of about 5 similar exposures, this was the only one where the birds didn't have some kind of blur on them. The more I think about this one though, I very well could have used a faster shutter speed. I remember messing with the apeture trying to get the shutter speed up, and the highest I could go at one point was between 0.6" and 1" depending on where I was aiming. Eventually I got to 2", but this may have been taken before that. I know this information is contained within the file somewhere, but it'll take me some messing around to figure it out.

Thanks for the comments so far. Please keep them coming.

C&C per req:

1. Can only say so much about the processing since it was done in-camera, other than: Don't let the camera think for you. Use it to record the images, YOU do the processing. It's a great scene, but I'm not very fussed about the processing. I think you would have acheived much better results shooting three or four exposures and using a separate HDR application. As well, a graduated ND filter might have eliminated the need for HDR altogether.