Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

thegraphic1982

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone!

Amateur photographer and graphic designer. Trying to start something and need to know how to take photos correctly. I currently use a Nikon D700 shooting RAW. I also use Adobe Lightroom to edit photos and place around presets and also apply filters but I still can't get that "magazine look." Trying to see if anyone can help, guide me or offer some suggestions: I took a photo of my 4Runner and a screenshot (of a Tundra) of what I am trying to do:
4Runner.jpg

Tundra.jpg

Welcome aboard.
Unless you have permission from the creator/owner, of that last photo, you need to remove it and post a link (TPF Rules).

I'm not a pro but the biggest thing in photography is controlling the light. Your truck looks flat and blown out - there isn't enough detail, especially around the front. A polarizing or even Neutral Density filer may have helped a bit. I'd also consider shooting it on concrete or asphalt - the grass is casting a green tint to the underside.

When I was in college I had a fraternity brother that worked for a manufacturer in their ad department as a detailer. I went out with him one time on a photoshoot. They would have 4 guys detailing a car for shoots. They would even armorall the treads of the tires!! If they moved the car. They would go back and detail any dirt off of it (again tread of tires). As for taking the pictures, they would put up large white screens to knock down the hard natural light. Some were stretched over rolling scaffolding. And one was tied between 2 big boom lifts. They had another boom lift for above lighting, and some scissor lifts for other lighting. I got a big lesson on how "real" commercial shoots go. I would say 95% or more was prep and set ups. 5% or less was actually taking the pictures.