U1 & U2 user settings?

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by markj, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. markj

    markj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    My D7000 has two user settings (U1 & U2) which are used for storing or saving a pre-configured set of instructions that can be called upon by simply rotating the mode dial. That part I understand, what is baffling is when would one use them? Excluding shooting into a photo light tent, where would one need to duplicate ones settings?

    If you are using these, could you please tell me what instructions have you saved and for what application it is to be used.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2012
  2. digital flower

    digital flower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    CT
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +36 / 1
    On my compact camera I use User1 as the monochrome setting and User2 with the macro focus engaged.
     
  3. 480sparky

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,306
    Likes Received:
    5,426
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,568 / 1
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    U1 has everything set to manual. Manual exposure, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, ISO.........

    U2 is basically the same as P, except for custom white balance.


    U2 is for 'snapshots'. U1 is for when I give a damn.
     
  4. markj

    markj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Sparky, Why would you have to set all manual settings U1? I'm guessing you use manual 90% of the time, wouldn't your camera be set to manual anyways?
     
  5. 480sparky

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,306
    Likes Received:
    5,426
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,568 / 1
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    "M" may not always mean manual WB or ISO. Programming it in U1 keeps me from having to set it that way.
     
  6. gryphonslair99

    gryphonslair99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6,617
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,148 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Use them for where ever you might shoot a lot and the lighting doesn't change.
     
  7. Overread

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20,967
    Likes Received:
    3,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    UK - England
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3,143 / 1
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I'm canon side, but we've similar features on some of our bodies as well. Personally I use them for a variety of different situations and how you use them will depend somewhat on the complexity of the camera and the custom options present - as well as your typical shooting subjects.

    For example I have mine setup to:
    Custom 1 - my macro mode - FPS is set to 4 instead of 8 (flash can't keep up with 8 in a burst) - mode is manual - ISO 200 - 1/200sec - f13 are the default starting settings.

    Custom 2 - wildlife grabshot - FPS 8 - ISO 400 - 1/400sec - and I'd have to check the aperture. Plus I've fiddled with some of the AF options to move them outside of their default values to get best performance


    In general just set them to suitable fast setting for when you want to shoot. If you find you don't change much/anything of the background settings or custom options then they will probably be of lesser use for you. If, however, you are often using lots of custom settings for key shoots then you can use the custom modes to at least let you start a shoot without having to re-set all the values and variables each time.
    Remember you can change the values in the custom mode at any point so you are not locked into shooting them unless you then save them as the new defaults.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to use nikons u1 & u2

,

nikon u1 and u2 modes

,

nikon u1 u2 mode

,
nikon u1 u2 settings
,

what is u1 and u2 modes