U1 & U2 user settings?

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by markj, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. markj
    Offline

    markj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    My D7000 has two user settings (U1 & U2) which are used for storing or saving a pre-configured set of instructions that can be called upon by simply rotating the mode dial. That part I understand, what is baffling is when would one use them? Excluding shooting into a photo light tent, where would one need to duplicate ones settings?

    If you are using these, could you please tell me what instructions have you saved and for what application it is to be used.
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2012
  2. digital flower
    Offline

    digital flower New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0
    On my compact camera I use User1 as the monochrome setting and User2 with the macro focus engaged.
  3. 480sparky
    Offline

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,845
    Likes Received:
    5,161
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,173 / 0
    U1 has everything set to manual. Manual exposure, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, ISO.........

    U2 is basically the same as P, except for custom white balance.


    U2 is for 'snapshots'. U1 is for when I give a damn.
  4. markj
    Offline

    markj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Sparky, Why would you have to set all manual settings U1? I'm guessing you use manual 90% of the time, wouldn't your camera be set to manual anyways?
  5. 480sparky
    Offline

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,845
    Likes Received:
    5,161
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,173 / 0
    "M" may not always mean manual WB or ISO. Programming it in U1 keeps me from having to set it that way.
  6. gryphonslair99
    Offline

    gryphonslair99 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6,617
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,140 / 0
    Use them for where ever you might shoot a lot and the lighting doesn't change.
  7. Overread
    Online

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20,633
    Likes Received:
    2,927
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    UK - England
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2,929 / 0
    I'm canon side, but we've similar features on some of our bodies as well. Personally I use them for a variety of different situations and how you use them will depend somewhat on the complexity of the camera and the custom options present - as well as your typical shooting subjects.

    For example I have mine setup to:
    Custom 1 - my macro mode - FPS is set to 4 instead of 8 (flash can't keep up with 8 in a burst) - mode is manual - ISO 200 - 1/200sec - f13 are the default starting settings.

    Custom 2 - wildlife grabshot - FPS 8 - ISO 400 - 1/400sec - and I'd have to check the aperture. Plus I've fiddled with some of the AF options to move them outside of their default values to get best performance


    In general just set them to suitable fast setting for when you want to shoot. If you find you don't change much/anything of the background settings or custom options then they will probably be of lesser use for you. If, however, you are often using lots of custom settings for key shoots then you can use the custom modes to at least let you start a shoot without having to re-set all the values and variables each time.
    Remember you can change the values in the custom mode at any point so you are not locked into shooting them unless you then save them as the new defaults.

Share This Page