Ugh, photoshop headache. Skate shots.

Ghoste

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm still learning my photoshop and slowly getting there. I'm just trying to learn how to overlap entire images. Like, I have a sequence shot of my friends skateboarding and I had to cut each thing seperatly instead of overlapping the entire image becuase I can't figure out how. Everytime I select the first layer and then try to open the next one it opens in a seperate box with a different set of layers and I want it to be in the first box. Understand what I am saying? Becuase I don't =p. This is the shot I'm trying to get.

sequencesmall.jpg

I couldn't figure why it looked so fake and then I realized the shadows were gone out of the 2nd and 5th layer. Any help would be great.

Ugh, I keep looking at the shot and it looks so bad. The shots came off of a CD since they are film shots. And they screwed up printing 'em or something becuase the 5th layer was all screwed up. In the full picture the skater is all the way up to the side of the shot. And then when I put him on the original it is not next to it and his hand is cut off =p.

how'd you cut the images out of the original photos?
it looks fine to me except for the 2nd and last shots. I think you're right w/ the shadows. did you use a lasso or something to cut the people out?

if so, did you use a tripod or handheld?
if handheld, how similiar are the backgrounds?

if background == similiar then draw a select a square around the skater and paste it into the original photo. line up the backgrounds and the skater should be appropriately positioned. and the shadows should be included. then erase and segment that overlaps body parts. this is just an idea . i've used this method before and it worked well (but there were also no shadows for me to really worry about cuz he was over water.

p.s. i'm not extremely experienced at this and my solution may provide no real fix at all