Understading films!

ShiFty268

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just sighed up with this forum. so hello everyone :)

Im 17 and i did photography at school this year and really enjoyed it. What im posting this thread about is films. I don't really have an understanding about different types of films. What im trying to ask is whats the difference between films that people just buy for normal camera and good professional films that give really good colours. How do you know the difference? what do you use for what photography?

Im pretty much asking for some information on films, i have know understanding.

well, film its self is highly complicated. I am a chemist and i still do not fully understand the exact chemistry behind film. Even my professor with a PhD in chemistry has told me that very few people understand the exact chemistry of B and W film. Color being even harder.

That being said, film is a large can of worms and ill try to answer some of it.

B&W Film. basically it comes down to grain and contrast.
High ISO films are very grainy and contrasty
Low ISO films are very smooth

what kind of film you use is determied by what effect you want.

Color film is more complicated.
these films are balanced for certian colors of light. Daylight is different then light from a light bulb. you can find films balanced for different types of light. In the digital world, this is light white balance.

The highest quality color films tend to be positive slide film. you can get extreamly good color saturation and fine grain with a film like Fugi Velvia 50 or Kodachrome 64

hopefully more people will add to this

Why not go to the manufacturers' web sites. They should have information about each product. Kodak, Fuji and Ilford would be a good place to start.

Over the years I have found that film brands are geneally a matter of personal preference. Within the brand are plenty of differences. Im sure you know the advanages and disadvantages of slide vs negative film.